AI agent payments: cards, wallets and protocols (2026)

6 cards, wallets and payment protocols that let an AI agent pay, scored on what it could spend if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected: who holds the funds, which limits the agent can't override, and whether you approve each payment. Checked against official sources 2026-10-26.

Build an AI agent

Who it's for: Builders letting an AI agent pay for things (cards, stablecoins, pay-per-request APIs) who want spending limits and approvals enforced outside the agent, not in its prompt.

Every fact sourced · last checked 2026-10-26 · how we verify

⚠ Risk note. A payment rail limits what a bug or a prompt injection can spend; it doesn't check that a purchase is a good one. Limits only protect you when the card issuer, wallet or payment service enforces them, not the agent's prompt. Protocols such as x402 and AP2 leave most limits to the wallet or card you pair them with. Test in a sandbox or on testnet first and fund the agent with only what it may spend. Not financial advice.

What can this agent do with your money? We score how much an AI agent could lose if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected, from official docs only. How we score it · Incident tracker

Agent Risk Scores

ToolAgent Risk ScorePointsSectionMissing inputs
Link agent walletAgent risk 84% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)76 / 90Agent paymentspreview
Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)Agent risk 69% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)24 / 35Agent paymentscustody, limits, withdraw, preview
Stripe Issuing for agentsAgent risk 56% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)50 / 90Agent paymentspreview
Lightning Agent ToolsAgent risk 52% (partial, 4 of 7 inputs)31 / 60Agent paymentsapproval, withdraw, preview
x402Agent risk 52% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)21 / 40Agent paymentscustody, approval, withdraw, preview
Coinbase Agentic WalletAgent risk 51% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)46 / 90Agent paymentspreview

Points per input, with the source for each, are on every tool page. How the score works.

Compared

ToolSafety and accessLive / paperPricingVisit
spend limits per authorization or over a period (for example monthly) and allowed merchant categories, set per card or cardholder and applied by Stripe at authorization; real-time authorization webhooks let your own code approve or decline every charge (2-second default timeout, then the card's default rules apply); single-use cards are invalidated after use; a card can be frozen at any timelive, by application (apply in the Stripe Dashboard; platforms contact Stripe); the agents page doesn't mention a test modenot stated on the agents pageVisit Stripe Issuing for agents
open protocol (Apache-2.0): the buyer signs every payment payload and a facilitator that alters it fails signature checks; the exact scheme requires the exact amount and upto signs a maximum, but the protocol has no spending budget of its own; Coinbase's x402 client adds client-side spend controls (max per payment, a cumulative cap per time window, allowed networks; TypeScript only); the CDP facilitator declines payments involving sanctioned or high-risk addresseslive on Base and Solana mainnet; testnets on Base Sepolia and Solana Devnetfree open protocol; Coinbase's CDP facilitator: first 1,000 onchain transactions a month free, then $0.001 eachVisit x402
private keys stay in Coinbase infrastructure (TEEs), never exposed to the agent's prompt or LLM; a max per call and a max per session are set in the wallet UI and agents can't change them; KYT and OFAC screening block high-risk or sanctioned transfers; no approval per transaction once limits are set; the send command takes any address or ENS namelive; the CLI also supports Base Sepolia and Solana DevnetAgentic Wallet MCP, wallet creation and gas (sponsored) are free; x402 services set their own prices; Coinbase Onramp standard feesVisit Coinbase Agentic Wallet
you approve the amount of every purchase in the Link app (requests expire after 10 minutes); each payment gets a new one-time-use card or single-use Shared Payment Token, valid for 12 hours, so your real card details aren't exposed; service limits of $5,000 per request, $5,000 a day and $20,000 per 30 days; controls for spending without approval are listed as coming soon; pays MPP merchants with link-cli mpp paylive; US Link accounts only (link-cli README); link-cli can issue test Shared Payment Tokens for a Stripe sandboxnot statedVisit Link agent wallet
the default setup splits the node into a watch-only instance on the agent machine and a signer holding the keys on a separate machine; macaroon-bakery issues pay-only, invoice-only, read-only and other scoped credentials ('never hand out admin.macaroon in production'); the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request; read-only access over Lightning Node Connect writes no credentials to diskmainnet, plus regtest and testnet setups (local-key mode is meant for testnet, regtest and small-value mainnet)not stated (open-source toolkit)Visit Lightning Agent Tools
user intent and authorization travel as signed, tamper-evident mandates: a Checkout Mandate shared with the merchant and a Payment Mandate shared with the credential provider and networks; the open Payment Mandate captures constraints such as budget and allowed instruments for autonomous purchases, the closed stage authorizes a specific amount; human-present and human-not-present flows; the page doesn't say who enforces the constraintsspecification, SDK and code samples (v0.2); not a hosted payment servicefree open protocol (Apache-2.0)Visit Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)

Protocols are scored only on what the protocol or its reference client enforces (why). An agent that holds crypto itself needs a wallet: see AI agent wallets.

x402

Agent paymentsofficial
52
Pricing
free open protocol
Best for
Agent payments · USDC and other ERC-20 tokens on Base, SPL tokens on Solana, pay-per-request HTTP 402 payments
Money access
live on Base and Solana mainnet

FAQ

Which agent payment tools make me approve each payment?

Required: Link agent wallet. Optional: Agent Payments Protocol (AP2). Each tool page links the vendor's docs for the approval setup.

Which ones enforce a spending limit outside the agent?

Link agent wallet, Stripe Issuing for agents, Coinbase Agentic Wallet. Limits that live only in a client library get 5 of 20 points: Lightning Agent Tools, x402.

Do x402 and AP2 limit what my agent can spend?

Not by themselves. x402 has no spending budget in the protocol; Coinbase's x402 client adds client-side caps per payment and per time window. AP2's open Payment Mandate records constraints such as a budget, but the protocol page doesn't say who enforces them. Pair either with a wallet or card that enforces limits.

More in Build an AI agent

Other paths: Trade with a bot · Markets & infrastructure · Learn · Search all tools

Get the weekly agent risk update

New Agent Risk Scores, incidents and safety changes for the wallets, exchanges and brokers AI agents use. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy