Stripe Issuing for agents

56Agent Risk Score56% of the points we could check · partial, 6 of 7 inputsHow much an AI agent could lose here if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected. Higher is safer.

Last checked 1 official sources linkedHow we scoreIncident tracker

Category
Agent payments
Pricing
not stated on the agents page
Best for
Agent payments · virtual and single-use cards, Shared Payment Tokens for MPP and UCP checkouts, agentic network tokens (Visa, Mastercard)
Verified
2026-10-26

Visit Stripe Issuing for agents

Official site (source): https://docs.stripe.com/issuing/agents

Agent Risk Score (v2)

Agent risk 56% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs) If an agent using this tool is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected, how much money can it lose? Higher is safer. Each input links to the vendor's own docs; affiliate links never affect it. How it's calculated · Incidents

Missing: Transaction preview or simulation. Missing inputs lower the maximum instead of counting as zero.

InputFrom official docsPoints
Who holds the keysStripe holds the funds and authorizes every charge against the card's controls; the agent only gets details of a scoped or single-use card, or a scoped Shared Payment Token source10 / 20
Spending limits enforced outside the agentSpend limits per authorization or over a period (e.g. monthly) and allowed merchant categories, set per card or cardholder and applied by Stripe at authorization source20 / 20
Human approvalNo human approval step: real-time authorization webhooks let your own code approve or decline each charge, with a 2-second default timeout before the card's default rules apply source0 / 15
Sending funds to new addressesMerchant category controls restrict where a card can be charged (an allowlist of business types), and single-use cards are invalidated after use source10 / 15
Transaction preview or simulationMissing: no official source found yetmissing / 10
Open source and auditsClosed: no public source code in our listing source0 / 10
Incident record (last 12 months)No incident naming this tool in our incident tracker for the last 12 months, and every scored input links an official source source10 / 10
Total56% of the points we could check50 / 90

The Safety score (v1) isn't shown in this section: it is built for tools that place orders. Why

Full facts

CategoryAI agent payments
Assetsvirtual and single-use cards, Shared Payment Tokens for MPP and UCP checkouts, agentic network tokens (Visa, Mastercard)
Live vs paperlive, by application (apply in the Stripe Dashboard; platforms contact Stripe); the agents page doesn't mention a test mode
Order approval / safetyspend limits per authorization or over a period (for example monthly) and allowed merchant categories, set per card or cardholder and applied by Stripe at authorization; real-time authorization webhooks let your own code approve or decline every charge (2-second default timeout, then the card's default rules apply); single-use cards are invalidated after use; a card can be frozen at any time
Pricing / free tiernot stated on the agents page
Rate limitsnot stated on the pages we checked
Official / communityofficial
Last checked2026-10-26
Sourcedocs.stripe.com

Change log

Safety check: Is Stripe Issuing for agents safe to connect to an AI agent?

Recent changes

All changes across tools

Related: Agent payments

Are you the maker? Claim this listing (adds a separate "Provided by vendor" box; it never changes our sourced facts), Add a "Listed on TradingAgentStack" badge or send a correction.

More in Build an AI agent

Other paths: Trade with a bot · Markets & infrastructure · Learn · Search all tools

Get the weekly agent risk update

New Agent Risk Scores, incidents and safety changes for the wallets, exchanges and brokers AI agents use. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy