Lightning Agent Tools

52Agent Risk Score52% of the points we could check · partial, 4 of 7 inputsHow much an AI agent could lose here if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected. Higher is safer.

Last checked 1 official sources linkedHow we scoreIncident tracker

Category
Agent payments
Pricing
not stated (open-source toolkit)
Best for
Agent payments · bitcoin over the Lightning Network, L402 pay-per-request APIs
Verified
2026-10-26

Visit Lightning Agent Tools

Official site (source): https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools

Agent Risk Score (v2)

Agent risk 52% (partial, 4 of 7 inputs) If an agent using this tool is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected, how much money can it lose? Higher is safer. Each input links to the vendor's own docs; affiliate links never affect it. How it's calculated · Incidents

Missing: Human approval, Sending funds to new addresses, Transaction preview or simulation. Missing inputs lower the maximum instead of counting as zero.

InputFrom official docsPoints
Who holds the keysThe default setup keeps the keys on a separate signer machine; the agent machine runs a watch-only node source10 / 20
Spending limits enforced outside the agentClient-side only: the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request source5 / 20
Human approvalMissing: no official source found yetmissing / 15
Sending funds to new addressesMissing: no official source found yetmissing / 15
Transaction preview or simulationMissing: no official source found yetmissing / 10
Open source and auditsOpen source (official Lightning Labs repository); no audit report found source6 / 10
Incident record (last 12 months)No incident naming this tool in our incident tracker for the last 12 months, and every scored input links an official source source10 / 10
Total52% of the points we could check31 / 60

The Safety score (v1) isn't shown in this section: it is built for tools that place orders. Why

Full facts

CategoryAI agent payments
Assetsbitcoin over the Lightning Network, L402 pay-per-request APIs
Live vs papermainnet, plus regtest and testnet setups (local-key mode is meant for testnet, regtest and small-value mainnet)
Order approval / safetythe default setup splits the node into a watch-only instance on the agent machine and a signer holding the keys on a separate machine; macaroon-bakery issues pay-only, invoice-only, read-only and other scoped credentials ('never hand out admin.macaroon in production'); the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request; read-only access over Lightning Node Connect writes no credentials to disk
Pricing / free tiernot stated (open-source toolkit)
Rate limitsnot stated on the pages we checked
Official / communityofficial
Last checked2026-10-26
Sourcegithub.com
Repositoryhttps://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools

Change log

Recent changes

All changes across tools

Related: Agent payments

Are you the maker? Claim this listing (adds a separate "Provided by vendor" box; it never changes our sourced facts), Add a "Listed on TradingAgentStack" badge or send a correction.

More in Build an AI agent

Other paths: Trade with a bot · Markets & infrastructure · Learn · Search all tools

Get the weekly agent risk update

New Agent Risk Scores, incidents and safety changes for the wallets, exchanges and brokers AI agents use. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy