# Lightning Agent Tools: agent risk score and safety controls

> Lightning Agent Tools: payments for AI agents. Live and paper or demo trading. Agent risk 52% (partial). Not stated. Sourced, checked 2026-10-26.

Canonical: https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/lightning-agent-tools/

1. [Home](https://tradingagentstack.com/)

2. [AI agent payments](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/agent-payments/)

L

# Lightning Agent Tools

[**52****Agent Risk Score**52% of the points we could check · partial, 4 of 7 inputsHow much an AI agent could lose here if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected. Higher is safer.](#agent-risk-score)

Last checked **2026-10-26****1** official sources linked[How we score](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/)[Incident tracker](https://tradingagentstack.com/incidents/)

Category[Agent payments](https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-payments/)
Pricingnot stated (open-source toolkit)
Best forAgent payments · bitcoin over the Lightning Network, L402 pay-per-request APIs
Verified2026-10-26

[Visit Lightning Agent Tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/lightning-agent-tools/?from=/tool/lightning-agent-tools/)

Official site (source): [https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools)

## Agent Risk Score (v2)

[Agent risk 52% (partial, 4 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) If an agent using this tool is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected, how much money can it lose? Higher is safer. Each input links to the vendor's own docs; affiliate links never affect it. [How it's calculated](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) · [Incidents](https://tradingagentstack.com/incidents/)

Missing: Human approval, Sending funds to new addresses, Transaction preview or simulation. Missing inputs lower the maximum instead of counting as zero.

| Input | From official docs | Points |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Who holds the keys | The default setup keeps the keys on a separate signer machine; the agent machine runs a watch-only node [source](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools) | 10 / 20 |
| Spending limits enforced outside the agent | Client-side only: the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request [source](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools) | 5 / 20 |
| Human approval | Missing: no official source found yet | missing / 15 |
| Sending funds to new addresses | Missing: no official source found yet | missing / 15 |
| Transaction preview or simulation | Missing: no official source found yet | missing / 10 |
| Open source and audits | Open source (official Lightning Labs repository); no audit report found [source](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools) | 6 / 10 |
| Incident record (last 12 months) | No incident naming this tool in our incident tracker for the last 12 months, and every scored input links an official source [source](https://tradingagentstack.com/incidents/) | 10 / 10 |
| Total | 52% of the points we could check | **31 / 60** |

The Safety score (v1) isn't shown in this section: it is built for tools that place orders. [Why](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-wallets-v1)

## Full facts

| Category | AI agent payments |
| --- | --- |
| Assets | bitcoin over the Lightning Network, L402 pay-per-request APIs |
| Live vs paper | mainnet, plus regtest and testnet setups (local-key mode is meant for testnet, regtest and small-value mainnet) |
| Order approval / safety | the default setup splits the node into a watch-only instance on the agent machine and a signer holding the keys on a separate machine; macaroon-bakery issues pay-only, invoice-only, read-only and other scoped credentials ('never hand out admin.macaroon in production'); the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request; read-only access over Lightning Node Connect writes no credentials to disk |
| Pricing / free tier | not stated (open-source toolkit) |
| Rate limits | not stated on the pages we checked |
| Official / community | official |
| Last checked | 2026-10-26 |
| Source | [github.com](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools) |
| Repository | [https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools) |

## Change log

- **2026-10-23** · Added. Lightning Agent Tools (Lightning Labs): skills and an MCP server for L402 payments over Lightning, with a remote signer and scoped macaroons.

## Recent changes

- **2026-10-23** New listing New listing: Lightning Agent Tools from Lightning Labs, skills and an MCP server that let agents pay L402 APIs over Lightning with a remote signer and scoped credentials. [Source](https://github.com/lightninglabs/lightning-agent-tools)

[All changes across tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/changes/)

## Related: Agent payments

- [Stripe Issuing for agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/stripe-issuing-for-agents/)

- [x402](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/x402/)

- [Coinbase Agentic Wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/coinbase-agentic-wallet/)

- [Link agent wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/link-agent-wallet/)

- [Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/)

Are you the maker? [Claim this listing](mailto:hello@tradingagentstack.com?subject=Claim%20listing%3A%20Lightning%20Agent%20Tools) (adds a separate "Provided by vendor" box; it never changes our sourced facts), [Add a "Listed on TradingAgentStack" badge](https://tradingagentstack.com/badge/) or [send a correction](https://tradingagentstack.com/submit/).

## More in Build an AI agent
[Broker MCP servers](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/broker-mcp/)[Market data MCPs](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/data-mcp/)[Agent frameworks](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/agent-framework/)[Risk & paper trading](https://tradingagentstack.com/trading-bot-risk-safety-tools/)[Agent wallets](https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-wallets/)[Agent payments](https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-payments/)[TAS Guard: limits for AI orders](https://tradingagentstack.com/guard/)[How each broker MCP gates orders](https://tradingagentstack.com/broker-mcp-safety-controls/)[Best broker for AI agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/best-broker-for-ai-agents/)[Best paper trading and guardrails](https://tradingagentstack.com/best-paper-trading-and-guardrails-for-ai-agents/)[Setup guides](https://tradingagentstack.com/guides/)

Other paths: [Trade with a bot](https://tradingagentstack.com/trade-with-a-bot/) · [Markets & infrastructure](https://tradingagentstack.com/markets-and-infrastructure/) · [Learn](https://tradingagentstack.com/learn-algorithmic-trading/) · [Search all tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/tools/)

## For agents

- [When to use this site, and the page index](https://tradingagentstack.com/llms.txt)
- [Sitemap](https://tradingagentstack.com/sitemap.xml)
- [Contact](https://tradingagentstack.com/contact/)
- [MCP server](https://tradingagentstack.com/mcp/)
- [MCP discovery](https://tradingagentstack.com/.well-known/mcp)
