# Is KuCoin safe? Check before you connect | TradingAgentStack

> KuCoin: worst case for your money, official links, freeze and key risks, incidents and a 3-step safe setup. Sourced, checked 2026-10-25.

Canonical: https://tradingagentstack.com/check/kucoin/

1. [Home](https://tradingagentstack.com/)

2. [Check](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/)

3. KuCoin

# Is KuCoin safe to connect?

Exchange · Multi-asset centralized exchange (spot, futures, margin). Checked 2026-10-25; every line links its source.

**Worst case:** KuCoin holds your coins and can freeze all deposits, withdrawals and transfers during AML or Travel Rule reviews with no stated time limit, and regulators have already shut it out of the US and restricted its EU arm.

Already lost funds? [What to do if a bot or wallet is drained](https://tradingagentstack.com/trading-bot-drained-what-to-do/).

## Safe setup in 3 steps

1. Give bots General plus the one trading permission they need; never enable Withdrawal or FlexTransfers on a key you paste into a third-party tool

2. If a key must have Withdrawal, KuCoin forces an IP restriction: bind it to your own server's static IP only

3. Check that your country is allowed (KuCoin is barred for US users) and keep long-term holdings in your own wallet

## What it can do with your money

| Who holds the keys | The exchange holds your funds Custodial exchange. KuCoin EU's custody agreement says only KuCoin EU holds the means of access to your crypto (you do not have self-custody) and that client assets sit in segregated on-chain wallets. [source](https://www.kucoin.com/en-eu/support/47185419968075) |
| --- | --- |
| Can funds be sent out to any address? | Yes. Crypto withdrawals are available, subject to KYC level and compliance controls; KuCoin's own XMR guide says Level 2 KYC is required for privacy-coin withdrawals. [source](https://www.kucoin.com/blog/id-2026-monero-trading-guide-why-kucoin-remains-the-top-choice-for-buying-xmr) |
| Can it hold or freeze your funds? | KuCoin EU General Terms (last updated 2026-01-28): KuCoin EU may apply temporary measures including account suspension, transaction freezing or service restrictions, e.g. during ongoing AML/CFT investigations including EU Travel Rule checks (s.14.3.1); a freeze disables all deposits, withdrawals and transfers of crypto (s.14.3.3(B)); you must promptly provide any information or documents requested (s.9.1.3); KuCoin EU can end an account with two months' notice (s.14.1.2) and after termination you have one month to move assets out, after which a 0.1%/month custody fee may apply (s.15.2, 15.5). No maximum duration for a freeze is stated. Terms for the global (non-EU) entity could not be retrieved. [source](https://www.kucoin.com/en-eu/support/47185419968075) |
| What a leaked API key can do | Permissions are chosen per key: General (read-only), Spot/Margin/Futures trading, Earn, Withdrawal, FlexTransfers and others. The Withdrawal permission can only be used with IP Restriction enabled, and FlexTransfers also requires an IP filter; KuCoin warns these permissions move money without email or Google 2FA verification. Since 2018 new keys default to read-only. Key expiry rules are not stated in the docs page. [source](https://www.kucoin.com/docs-new) |
| Monero and Zcash | **XMR**: trade+deposit+withdraw: XMR spot pairs (USDT, BTC, ETH, USDC) and XMR perpetuals; KuCoin public API showed XMR deposits and withdrawals enabled on 2026-10-25. Third-party: XMR deposits/withdrawals were paused from 2026-09-24 and re-enabled by 2026-10-20 [source](https://api.kucoin.com/api/v3/currencies/XMR) [source](https://en.coin-turk.com/?p=254402) **ZEC**: trade+deposit+withdraw: KuCoin public API showed ZEC (native ZEC chain) deposits and withdrawals enabled on 2026-10-25 [source](https://api.kucoin.com/api/v3/currencies/ZEC) **Regions**: Not stated for XMR by KuCoin. KuCoin says Level 2 KYC is required for privacy-coin withdrawals. Whether KuCoin EU offers XMR/ZEC was not confirmed. [source](https://www.kucoin.com/blog/id-2026-monero-trading-guide-why-kucoin-remains-the-top-choice-for-buying-xmr) |

## Official links

Each link below was confirmed from at least two independent places (the vendor's own pages plus another source). Anything else using this name is not on the list.

- Website: `kucoin.com`

- Telegram: `@Kucoin_Exchange`

- X: `@kucoincom`

Where we confirmed these
- https://www.kucoin.com/ (homepage Community section links x.com/KuCoinCom and t.me/Kucoin_Exchange)

- https://www.coingecko.com/en/exchanges/kucoin (website kucoin.com, twitter.com/kucoincom, t.me/Kucoin_Exchange)

- https://x.com/KuCoinCom (verified profile, checked 2026-10-25)

## Deadlines

- **2027-07-10**: EU AMLR (Regulation (EU) 2024/1624, Art. 79(1)) applies: crypto-asset service providers may not keep accounts that allow anonymisation or obfuscation of transactions, including through anonymity-enhancing coins (e.g. XMR, ZEC). Relevant if you use this service through its EU-licensed entity (KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH, Austria; MiCA licence reported 2025-11-28: https://cointelegraph.com/news/kucoin-mica-license-austria-malta-left-out). [source](https://didit.me/blog/privacy-coins-no-kyc-swaps-rules-2026/)

## Incidents

Items marked "reported by users" are claims we could not confirm with the vendor or a security firm.

| Date | What happened | Amount | Outcome | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-09-24 | XMR deposits and withdrawals paused on KuCoin; shown as enabled again by 2026-10-20 (third-party report) |  | resumed | [source](https://en.coin-turk.com/?p=254402) |
| 2026-03-30 | US court approved CFTC consent order: KuCoin operator Peken Global permanently barred from serving US users unless registered as a foreign board of trade; $500,000 penalty | $500,000 | US users cannot use KuCoin | [source](https://cointelegraph.com/news/kucoin-fined-500k-as-cftc-cases-ends) |
| 2026-03-05 | Dubai's crypto regulator (VARA) issued a cease-and-desist against KuCoin entities, including KuCoin Exchange EU GmbH, for serving Dubai residents without approval |  | regulatory warning; no reported effect on balances | [source](https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/crypto/articles/u-bans-crypto-operator-dubai-225301785.html) |
| 2026-02-19 | Austria's FMA banned KuCoin EU from new business (no new customers or new contracts) over AML/CTF and sanctions-compliance staffing gaps, about three months after granting its MiCA licence; date approximate (decision reported 2026-02-23 as made 'Thursday') |  | onboarding halted; effect on existing balances not reported | [source](https://cointelegraph.com/news/austria-regulator-slaps-new-business-ban-kucoin-eu) |
| 2025-01-27 | KuCoin (Peken Global) pleaded guilty in the US to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business, agreed to pay ~$297M and to exit the US market for at least two years; date approximate (January 2025) | ~$297M | US exit | [source](https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/crypto/articles/u-bans-crypto-operator-dubai-225301785.html) |

## Check a link

Got a link, @handle or repo that claims to be KuCoin? Paste it to see if it's on the official list.

Checking links inside Telegram? Send them to [@TASCheckBot](https://t.me/TASCheckBot), or add it to your group so anyone can type `/check`. Alerts on new drains and fakes: [@tradingAgentStk](https://x.com/tradingAgentStk).

## Get an alert for KuCoin

We email you if we add an incident, a freeze report, a known fake or a deadline for KuCoin. Free; unsubscribe anytime.

## More checks: Exchanges
[Binance](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/binance/)[Bybit](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bybit/)[OKX](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/okx/)[Kraken](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/kraken/)[Coinbase Advanced](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/coinbase-advanced/)[Hyperliquid](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/hyperliquid/)[Bitget](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bitget/)[Gemini](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/gemini/)[MEXC](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/mexc/)[Gate](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/gate/)[HTX](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/htx/)[Crypto.com Exchange](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/crypto-com-exchange/)[BingX](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bingx/)[Bitfinex](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bitfinex/)[Bitvavo](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bitvavo/)[Bitstamp](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/bitstamp/)[WhiteBIT](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/whitebit/)[Pionex](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/pionex/)

Something wrong or out of date? [Send a correction](https://tradingagentstack.com/submit/) with a link to the vendor's docs. Not financial advice. [How we check](https://tradingagentstack.com/check/#method).

## For agents

- [When to use this site, and the page index](https://tradingagentstack.com/llms.txt)
- [Sitemap](https://tradingagentstack.com/sitemap.xml)
- [Contact](https://tradingagentstack.com/contact/)
- [MCP server](https://tradingagentstack.com/mcp/)
- [MCP discovery](https://tradingagentstack.com/.well-known/mcp)
