# AI agent payments compared: Agent Risk Scores (2026)

> AI agent payment tools compared on what an agent could spend: Stripe Issuing, Link, Coinbase Agentic Wallet, x402, AP2 and Lightning, from official docs.

Canonical: https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-payments/

1. [Home](https://tradingagentstack.com/)

2. AI agent payments

# AI agent payments: cards, wallets and protocols (2026)

6 cards, wallets and payment protocols that let an AI agent pay, scored on what it could spend if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected: who holds the funds, which limits the agent can't override, and whether you approve each payment. Checked against official sources 2026-10-26.
Build an AI agent

**Who it's for:** Builders letting an AI agent pay for things (cards, stablecoins, pay-per-request APIs) who want spending limits and approvals enforced outside the agent, not in its prompt.

Every fact sourced · last checked 2026-10-26 · [how we verify](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/)

**⚠ Risk note.** A payment rail limits what a bug or a prompt injection can spend; it doesn't check that a purchase is a good one. Limits only protect you when the card issuer, wallet or payment service enforces them, not the agent's prompt. Protocols such as x402 and AP2 leave most limits to the wallet or card you pair them with. Test in a sandbox or on testnet first and fund the agent with only what it may spend. Not financial advice.

**What can this agent do with your money?** We score how much an AI agent could lose if it is wrong, hacked or prompt-injected, from official docs only. [How we score it](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) · [Incident tracker](https://tradingagentstack.com/incidents/)

## Agent Risk Scores

| Tool | Agent Risk Score | Points | Section | Missing inputs |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Link agent wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/link-agent-wallet/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 84% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 76 / 90 | Agent payments | preview |
| [Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 69% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 24 / 35 | Agent payments | custody, limits, withdraw, preview |
| [Stripe Issuing for agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/stripe-issuing-for-agents/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 56% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 50 / 90 | Agent payments | preview |
| [Lightning Agent Tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/lightning-agent-tools/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 52% (partial, 4 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 31 / 60 | Agent payments | approval, withdraw, preview |
| [x402](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/x402/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 52% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 21 / 40 | Agent payments | custody, approval, withdraw, preview |
| [Coinbase Agentic Wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/coinbase-agentic-wallet/#agent-risk-score) | [Agent risk 51% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score) | 46 / 90 | Agent payments | preview |

Points per input, with the source for each, are on every tool page. [How the score works](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score).

## Compared

| Tool | Safety and access | Live / paper | Pricing | Visit |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| **56**[Stripe Issuing for agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/stripe-issuing-for-agents/) | spend limits per authorization or over a period (for example monthly) and allowed merchant categories, set per card or cardholder and applied by Stripe at authorization; real-time authorization webhooks let your own code approve or decline every charge (2-second default timeout, then the card's default rules apply); single-use cards are invalidated after use; a card can be frozen at any time | live, by application (apply in the Stripe Dashboard; platforms contact Stripe); the agents page doesn't mention a test mode | not stated on the agents page | [Visit Stripe Issuing for agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/stripe-issuing-for-agents/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |
| **52**[x402](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/x402/) | open protocol (Apache-2.0): the buyer signs every payment payload and a facilitator that alters it fails signature checks; the exact scheme requires the exact amount and upto signs a maximum, but the protocol has no spending budget of its own; Coinbase's x402 client adds client-side spend controls (max per payment, a cumulative cap per time window, allowed networks; TypeScript only); the CDP facilitator declines payments involving sanctioned or high-risk addresses | live on Base and Solana mainnet; testnets on Base Sepolia and Solana Devnet | free open protocol; Coinbase's CDP facilitator: first 1,000 onchain transactions a month free, then $0.001 each | [Visit x402](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/x402/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |
| **51**[Coinbase Agentic Wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/coinbase-agentic-wallet/) | private keys stay in Coinbase infrastructure (TEEs), never exposed to the agent's prompt or LLM; a max per call and a max per session are set in the wallet UI and agents can't change them; KYT and OFAC screening block high-risk or sanctioned transfers; no approval per transaction once limits are set; the send command takes any address or ENS name | live; the CLI also supports Base Sepolia and Solana Devnet | Agentic Wallet MCP, wallet creation and gas (sponsored) are free; x402 services set their own prices; Coinbase Onramp standard fees | [Visit Coinbase Agentic Wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/coinbase-agentic-wallet/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |
| **84**[Link agent wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/link-agent-wallet/) | you approve the amount of every purchase in the Link app (requests expire after 10 minutes); each payment gets a new one-time-use card or single-use Shared Payment Token, valid for 12 hours, so your real card details aren't exposed; service limits of $5,000 per request, $5,000 a day and $20,000 per 30 days; controls for spending without approval are listed as coming soon; pays MPP merchants with link-cli mpp pay | live; US Link accounts only (link-cli README); link-cli can issue test Shared Payment Tokens for a Stripe sandbox | not stated | [Visit Link agent wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/link-agent-wallet/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |
| **52**[Lightning Agent Tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/lightning-agent-tools/) | the default setup splits the node into a watch-only instance on the agent machine and a signer holding the keys on a separate machine; macaroon-bakery issues pay-only, invoice-only, read-only and other scoped credentials ('never hand out admin.macaroon in production'); the lnget client takes a --max-cost cap per request; read-only access over Lightning Node Connect writes no credentials to disk | mainnet, plus regtest and testnet setups (local-key mode is meant for testnet, regtest and small-value mainnet) | not stated (open-source toolkit) | [Visit Lightning Agent Tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/lightning-agent-tools/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |
| **69**[Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/) | user intent and authorization travel as signed, tamper-evident mandates: a Checkout Mandate shared with the merchant and a Payment Mandate shared with the credential provider and networks; the open Payment Mandate captures constraints such as budget and allowed instruments for autonomous purchases, the closed stage authorizes a specific amount; human-present and human-not-present flows; the page doesn't say who enforces the constraints | specification, SDK and code samples (v0.2); not a hosted payment service | free open protocol (Apache-2.0) | [Visit Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)](https://tradingagentstack.com/go/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/?from=/ai-agent-payments/) |

Protocols are scored only on what the protocol or its reference client enforces ([why](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#protocols)). An agent that holds crypto itself needs a wallet: see [AI agent wallets](https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-wallets/).
S

### [Stripe Issuing for agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/stripe-issuing-for-agents/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**56**
 Pricingnot stated on the agents page
Best forAgent payments · virtual and single-use cards, Shared Payment Tokens for MPP and UCP checkouts, agentic network tokens (Visa, Mastercard)
Money accesslive, by application (apply in the Stripe Dashboard
[Agent risk 56% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/stripe-issuing-for-agents/)

x

### [x402](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/x402/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**52**
 Pricingfree open protocol
Best forAgent payments · USDC and other ERC-20 tokens on Base, SPL tokens on Solana, pay-per-request HTTP 402 payments
Money accesslive on Base and Solana mainnet
[Agent risk 52% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/x402/)

C

### [Coinbase Agentic Wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/coinbase-agentic-wallet/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**51**
 PricingAgentic Wallet MCP, wallet creation and gas (sponsored) are free
Best forAgent payments · USDC on Base, Polygon and Solana, ETH, POL and SOL sends, token swaps on Base and Polygon
Money accesslive
[Agent risk 51% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/coinbase-agentic-wallet/)

L

### [Link agent wallet](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/link-agent-wallet/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**84**
 Pricingnot stated
Best forAgent payments · one-time-use cards from your Link wallet, Shared Payment Tokens for Machine Payments Protocol (MPP) merchants
Money accesslive
[Agent risk 84% (partial, 6 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/link-agent-wallet/)

L

### [Lightning Agent Tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/lightning-agent-tools/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**52**
 Pricingnot stated (open-source toolkit)
Best forAgent payments · bitcoin over the Lightning Network, L402 pay-per-request APIs
Money accessmainnet, plus regtest and testnet setups (local-key mode is meant for testnet, regtest…
[Agent risk 52% (partial, 4 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/lightning-agent-tools/)

A

### [Agent Payments Protocol (AP2)](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/)
Agent paymentsofficial
**69**
 Pricingfree open protocol (Apache-2.0)
Best forAgent payments · card payments (initial version), x402 stablecoin sample
Money accessspecification, SDK and code samples (v0.2)
[Agent risk 69% (partial, 3 of 7 inputs)](https://tradingagentstack.com/methodology/#agent-risk-score)✓ Verified 2026-10-26[Details →](https://tradingagentstack.com/tool/agent-payments-protocol-ap2/)

## FAQ

### Which agent payment tools make me approve each payment?

Required: Link agent wallet. Optional: Agent Payments Protocol (AP2). Each tool page links the vendor's docs for the approval setup.

### Which ones enforce a spending limit outside the agent?

Link agent wallet, Stripe Issuing for agents, Coinbase Agentic Wallet. Limits that live only in a client library get 5 of 20 points: Lightning Agent Tools, x402.

### Do x402 and AP2 limit what my agent can spend?

Not by themselves. x402 has no spending budget in the protocol; Coinbase's x402 client adds client-side caps per payment and per time window. AP2's open Payment Mandate records constraints such as a budget, but the protocol page doesn't say who enforces them. Pair either with a wallet or card that enforces limits.

## More in Build an AI agent
[Broker MCP servers](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/broker-mcp/)[Market data MCPs](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/data-mcp/)[Agent frameworks](https://tradingagentstack.com/category/agent-framework/)[Risk & paper trading](https://tradingagentstack.com/trading-bot-risk-safety-tools/)[Agent wallets](https://tradingagentstack.com/ai-agent-wallets/)[TAS Guard: limits for AI orders](https://tradingagentstack.com/guard/)[How each broker MCP gates orders](https://tradingagentstack.com/broker-mcp-safety-controls/)[Best broker for AI agents](https://tradingagentstack.com/best-broker-for-ai-agents/)[Best paper trading and guardrails](https://tradingagentstack.com/best-paper-trading-and-guardrails-for-ai-agents/)[Setup guides](https://tradingagentstack.com/guides/)

Other paths: [Trade with a bot](https://tradingagentstack.com/trade-with-a-bot/) · [Markets & infrastructure](https://tradingagentstack.com/markets-and-infrastructure/) · [Learn](https://tradingagentstack.com/learn-algorithmic-trading/) · [Search all tools](https://tradingagentstack.com/tools/)

## For agents

- [When to use this site, and the page index](https://tradingagentstack.com/llms.txt)
- [Sitemap](https://tradingagentstack.com/sitemap.xml)
- [Contact](https://tradingagentstack.com/contact/)
- [MCP server](https://tradingagentstack.com/mcp/)
- [MCP discovery](https://tradingagentstack.com/.well-known/mcp)
